JUSTMINE’s PODCAST

About me
and the show

HELLOW EVERYONE!! This is my first ever Podcast, hope you guys like it and enjoy it! For this episode, I talked about What benefits and limitations are in using digital media to facilitate student learning and engagement?

Rating: 5 out of 5.

ABOUTME

Rating: 5 out of 5.

I chose this as my Podcast cover is simply because I made it by myself and for me it’s quite simple to understand what am I gonna talk about in the Podcast by looking at the cover only.

WHAT IS MY PODCAST ABOUT?

I discussed the pros and cons of using digital media in the classroom in this podcast. One of the points I made concerned the debate over whether or not people and students are experiencing more of the advantages or disadvantages of digital media use. In creating this podcast, I aimed for realism in terms of both the tone and content of the conversation, and I achieved this in part by taking an analytical stance. It is important to me that the audience grasps the concept of digital learning. To further investigate how millennials are impacted by digital learning and how digital media helps educators and students today, I focused on the effects of the global pandemic.

I made certain that the sources I was accessing for my research were providing me with insights on digital learning. My studies provided me with a deeper understanding of the benefits and drawbacks of digital education, as well as the reasons for them. I discovered that AI has a major impact on e-learning, specifically on reaction time between teachers and students, as well as on support solutions. I employed my sources for my research by analysing whether or not the journal papers discussed the benefits and limitations with a valid justification for such topics. I had difficulty finding a webpage on this subject. They were particularly interesting because they provided insight into how e-learning improves accessibility, individualised learning, collaboration, and interactivity in education.

I was aiming for a rhythmic tone in my production. Still, I had a hard time due to my inexperience with music creation and editing software(GarageBand), so I opted to use music that did not require permission from the rights-holders. As a long-time listener on SoundCloud, I figured it was time to start exploring the service’s Creative Commons offerings. I decided to focus my music search on Soundcloud because it offered a wide variety of songs that did not require permission to be played publicly. When I was trying to find music to accompany my voice overs, I had trouble finding something lively that also suited my voice. As if that weren’t enough, it was a pain to check the creative commons license of every song I liked to see whether I could use it.And at the end it took me more than 2 hours just to find a backsounds for this podcast.

As a last note, I’d like to mention the difficulties I encountered when actually recording this podcast. Finding a quiet place to record was a major challenge for me. It turned out that I despise the sound of my own voice. To avoid any echo, I recorded the final segment in my bedroom; as much as I hate hearing my own voice, there was nothing more I could have do. As a podcast listener, I found this to be particularly pertinent because I know how crucial it is to have a high-quality audio recording in which every word can be made out without any distractions. My podcast took around 50 takes in different parts of my room before I was satisfied with the flow of the audio. I understood the significance of this in making sure my podcast’s audience gets what I’m trying to say. After giving it some thought, I concluded that making a podcast was not a trivial endeavour. After a few attempts, I realised that podcasting is not for everyone and that I am not a great public speaker.

References 

  1. Education (2012) Pros and Cons of Social Media in Education. Accessed 30 January 2023
  2. Haley (2022) How Has Digital Media Affected on Modern Education? Accessed 30 January 2023 
  3. Christ241 (2021) The Top 15 Benefits of Digital Learning. Accessed 30 January 2023 
  4. Future Educators (2019) Technology in Classrooms: Pros and Cons. Accessed 30 January 2023 
  5. Hannah Walters (2022) The top 10 Benefits of Digital Learning. Accessed 30 January 2023
  6. Niall McNulty (2017) What are the benefits of digital educations? And why is it better? Accessed 30 January 2023 
  7. Cover image designed in Canva by Jasmine Gunawan
  8. Intro and Outro: Opening By 8-BITchin’tendo (CC BY 3.0),INTRO By o1774567 (CC BY 3.0), Ending By Akip (CC BY 3.0)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started